Jesus Christ: Firstborn, Only Begotten Son, and Son of God

When the ancient prophets spoke of the Messiah, some of them spoke of Him as being the Son of God. Isaiah 7:14, “Therefore the Lord himself shall give you a sign; Behold, a virgin shall conceive, and bear a son, and shall call his name Immanuel [with us is God].” Throughout His earthly ministry, Christ referred to His Father in any conversation that He could. But perhaps the most inspiring moments were those when the Father recognized His Son. Matthew 17:5, “behold, a voice out of the cloud, which said, This is my beloved Son, in whom I am well pleased; hear ye him.” Now, in the latter-days, we have many more revelations regarding Christ’s relationship with the Father and how that relationship can help us. D&C 93:21-23, “I was sin the beginnings with the Father, and am the Firstborn; and all those who are begotten through me are partakers of the glory of the same, and are the church of the Firstborn. Ye were also in the beginning with the Father.”

As a first child myself, I feel that this is one of the ways that I can relate to our Savior. The firstborn is the one who leads the way for all other siblings, the one who takes on responsibilities in a different way from the other siblings. I mean, I was the first one to go to school, the first one to babysit, the first one to learn how to drive. TJ was the first one to leave on his mission, but I followed behind shortly (and that would not have been the case if the missionary age change had happened earlier). Throughout it all, I hope that I have been an example to my brothers, and I’d like to say that I have close relationships with each of them.

In thinking about this and thinking about the council in Heaven, is it any wonder that we chose Jehovah to be our Savior? When God was explaining His Plan of Salvation and the need to send a redeemer, Satan asked to be the one so that he could receive all the glory. But the Father had something else in mind. Moses 4:2, “But, behold, my Beloved Son, which was my Beloved and Chosen from the beginning, said unto me – Father, thy will be done, and the glory be thine forever.” He was our Elder Brother, and He knew things better than any of us. Is it any wonder that He would be willing to sacrifice everything for us? The purpose of the Son is to lead us to the Father. How grateful I am that the Firstborn of the Father was humble enough to do His Father’s will. I hope that we will be able to do the same.

Leave a Reply

